How to Stop Syncing your Google Account in Chrome – Google Chrome Tutorial

At some point, you may decide you do not want to sync some or all your settings and data with your google account in the cloud. If it’s less than all your data you don’t want to sync, you can get granular with the sync settings.

Turning Off Sync to All Settings

  • Click the snowman button (the one with the 3 dots) in the top right corner of your Chrome browser window
  • Click the “Settings” menu option
  • Click the “Turn Off” button in the name portion of the People settings section
  • This will display the “Turn off sync” dialog
    • Clicking the “Continue” button will turn off syncing
    • Optionally clicking the checkbox for “Clear bookmarks, history, passwords and more from this device” will turn off syncing, erase all settings, close the browser and completely remove the account from Chrome. To use this account again, you would need to re-add the person.

Turning Off Sync to Some Settings

  • Click the snowman button (the one with the 3 dots) in the top right corner of your Chrome browser window
  • Click the “Settings” menu option to open the settings tab
    • In the People settings section, click on “Sync” to display the sync menu
    • Click the slider next to “Sync everything” to enable all the individual sliders
    • Click the slider next to each setting you do not want to sync. Sync will stop immediately
    • Click the arrow at the top left of the menu to return to the people menu or just close the tab if you are done